Hepatitis C Main Forums > I Just Tested Positive for Hepatitis C

Recently diagnosed and hoping for treatment

(1/2) > >>

Shellae:
Hi everyone. I'm new to this diagnosis, and have done some research on the treatment manyret my doctors have prescribed. Hoping the insurances cover this. I have done two of the three vaccinations for Hep A and B...the third is due in August. My question around this is will they start Hep C treatment before the full vaccine run? Also I have an ultrasound on Monday to see the extent of liver scarring. Blood liver panels show I am at F3. I believe I contracted the Hep C in either the early 70's, or in 1983. Both times I had blood transfusions. It is also possible I contracted it in 1990 from a tattoo. But new needles were used. Don't know about the ink though. I am happy to find this supportive forum. I'm really scared and have high anxiety, especially thinking that I've walked around all these years oblivious to my condition.

lporterrn:
Congratulations on your adventure towards freedom from hep C! No problem with getting the vaccine (or any vaccine) while on treatment.

One thing that is important for you to know is that because you have F3, there is a chance that you are at risk of liver cancer even if your hep C is cured. It is very important that you keep your follow-up appointments to see if your liver heals itself or stays at F3. Here is a link to read after you are done with treatment: https://www.hepmag.com/basics/hepatitis-c-basics/life-hepatitis-c-treatment

For now, focus on treatment and know that we are here.

Shellae:
Thanks Iporterrn

Lynn K:
Hi and welcome

I probably was infected in 1978 but had no idea until 1990.

I was diagnosed as F3 in 2003 fibrosis and F4 cirrhosis in 2008 both diagnosis were using liver biopsy.